020 8741 1940

Krzysztof Urbanski Quartet

Date: 6/10/2018
Time: 7.30pm
Price: £12 on the door. £10 online. Students £6.
Table booking (11AM-8PM): 07415892436
Buy tickets

London based quartet was formed in 2017. Krzysztof’s goal was to find musicians opened to create a fresh and original sound within a very common band frame – Quartet.

For his third, soon to be release album as a leader, Krzysztof Urbanski presents a new acoustic quartet that naturally blends melodic rhapsody, rhythmic structures within the tradition of jazz, world and classical music

“All four musicians are exceptional instrumentalists and improvisers. Watching them exploring new musical territories can be a very memorable experience”.

Krzysztof Urbanski is a multi-award winning jazz saxophonist, composer and educator.

Recommended by The Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz in Los Angeles.

Growing recognition largely throughout winning international saxophone competitions including Chicago "Sax Idol Competition", "Taichung Saxophone Competition" and Hoeilaart Jazz Competition in Belgium – have resulted in requests for Kris to perform at the major festivals and music events including Jazz nad Odra, London Jazz Festival, Manchester Jazz Festival, Chicago Jazz Showcase, Taichung Jazz Festival, Gent Jazz Festival, Hoeilaart Jazz festival, Jazz Jamboree, Royal Northern College of Music, UCLA Los Angeles USA, World Saxophone Congress in Zagreb, Asian Saxophone Congress in Taiwan, Blue Note, Cleethorpes Jazz Festival, Chicago Jazz Showcase, Chicago Mid-West Clinic, The Saxophone Day/Manchester.

SoloYellow (Copy)Group3 (Copy)

Krzysztof during his career, which spans over 17 years have had a chance to work with many outstanding musicians and organizations including: Perico Sambeat, Branford Marsalis, Andy Scott, Rob Buckland, Stuart McCallum, Jason Rebello, Victor Goines, Gwilym Simcock, Jose Torres, Leszek Mozdzer, Croatian Radio-Television Jazz Orchestra and many more.

John Turville is one of the leading UK pianists of his generation, and has released three albums under his own name, with the most recent due for release on Whirlwind Records in 2019, featuring the world-renowned Julian Arguelles on tenor and soprano sax. He has won multiple awards for his two trio albums including MOJO’s #3 Jazz Album of the Year (2012), and ‘Best Album’ in the Parliamentary Awards 2011. John was also a joint winner of the 2009 PRS Promoter’s Choice Award and was awarded ‘Best Instrumentalist' in the 2010 London Jazz Awards as well as reaching the semi-finals in the Martial Solal Jazz Piano Competition in Paris the same year.

John co-runs the E17 jazz collective and curates their program and festival, as well as conducting and composing for the 13-piece E17 Large Ensemble, his tango quintet ‘Almagro Ensemble’ and his sextet ‘Solstice’, featuring Brigitte Beraha and Tori Freestone, who’s debut album ‘Alimentation’ was released on Two Rivers Records in 2017, accompanied by a twenty date Arts Council tour. Their second album is due for release in 2018.

Asaf Sirkis - Born in 1969 in Petah-Tikva, Israel, Asaf later moved to the town of Rehovot, where he spent his teens and early twenties. This was an influential move for Asaf, as it was here amongst the diverse cultural influences he found in Rehovot that Asaf began to show an interest in music and rhythm. In Rehovot he lived amongst people from North Africa, east and central Europe, and the Middle East. Living in Shaarayim, the Yemenite neighbourhood in Rehovot, Asaf was particularly drawn to Yemenite culture, music, and rhythms.Asaf played or has been playing around the world with artists such as: Dave Holland, Jacob Collier, Tim Garland, Celine Bonacina, Gwilym Simcock, Larry Coryell, Nicolas Meier, Jeff Berlin, John Abercrombie, Bob Sheppard, Norman Watt-Roy (off the Blockheads), Wilco Johnson, Soft Machine, Robert Wyatt, Mark Egan, Mark Wingfield, Natacha Atlas, Dave Liebman, David Binney, Gary Husband, pianist John Taylor, Norma Winstone, Kenny Wheeler, Andy Sheppard, Lenny Stern, John Law, Peter King, Stan Sulzman, Barbaros Erkose (Turkey), Dwiki Dharmawan (Indonesia), Bela Szakcsi-Lokatos (Hungary), Glauco Venier (Italy), Yuri Goloubev (Russia), Klaus Gesing (Austria), Eyal Maoz (NYC), Simon Fisher Turner, Phil Robson,  Mark Latimer, John Etherigde and more...

W6 0RF
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram